American Society for Engineering Education
Educational Research and Methods Division

Any ERM member is eligible to be a candidate for any of the elected or appointed positions. The Executive Board consisting of the Chair, Vice-Chair for ASEE Programs, Vice Chair for FIE Programs, Vice-chair for Publications, Vice-Chair for Teacher Development, Secretary/Treasurer, 4 Directors, and 2 At-Large Directors meets at the ASEE Conference and at the FIE Conference. Actions by the Executive Board are reported at the Annual Business Meeting of the Division, held at the ASEE Conference. Any major policy decisions are also presented there for consideration by the membership.

Additional positions include the Immediate Past Chair, Nominating Committee Chair, Benjamin Dasher Award Committee Chair, Helen Plants Award Committee Chair, Apprentice Faculty Grant Committee Chair, and NETI Director.

Descriptions of positions and terms can be viewed in the bylaws. A full list of former officers is also available.

Current Officers
Chair - Monica Cardella

Purdue University (2014-16)
Immediate Past Chair - Elliot Douglas
University of Florida (2013-2015)
Secretary/Treasurer - Adam Carberry

Arizona State University (2014-15)

ASEE 2016 Program Chair - Lisa Benson


Clemson University

Vice-Chair Elect/ASEE 2017 Program Chair - Matthew Verleger


Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

FIE 2015 Program Chair - Senay Purzer
Purdue University

Vice Chair of Programs for FIE 2016 - Holly Matusovich


Virginia Tech


Sarah Zappe


Penn State University (2014-2016)

 Archie Holmes


University of Virginia (2015-2017)

Daria Kotys-Schwartz


University of Colorado (2014-16)



Kathryn Jablakow


Pennsylvania State University Great Valley (2015-2017)

At-Large Directors - Julie Martin


Clemson University


Apprentice Faculty Grants Committee Chair - Nadia Kellam


Arizona State University

Nomination Committee Chair - James Pembridge

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

ERM Best Paper Award Committee Chair - David Knight

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Newsletter Editor - Glen Livesay

Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology


Ben Dasher Award Committee - Noemi Mendoza

Texas A & M University

Helen Plants Award Committee - Marisa Orr


Louisiana Tech University

FIE Steering Committee  
Jim Morgan

Texas A&M University
Beth Eschenbach

Humboldt State University
Archie Holmes

University of Virginia
Webmaster - Geoffrey Herman

University of Illinois

NETI Director - Mike Prince

Bucknell University